往届获奖选手

2019年4月15日正值上海车展,届时将有12名才华横溢的学生设计师登上CDN中国汽车设计大赛的领奖台,而于此同时,来自各大车企的资深设计师以及设计总监也将齐聚一堂,共同欢庆大赛的十周年盛典。如果你也是一名中国高校的在读学生设计师,立即注册参赛,加入这一盛会,你的职业汽车设计之路将由此开启。

新一届大赛颁奖盛典随车展从北京转战上海。上海是中国汽车设计的中心,其多元文化融合与蓬勃发展的大都市氛围为年轻设计师创造了就业机会和创意环境。许多往届大赛选手都在毕业后都选择定居上海发展汽车设计生涯。

十年来,大赛为参赛学生们创造了事业发展及进军海外的良机,同时也使我们的大赛评委与赞助商企业接触到了一大批优秀的年轻设计人才。曾几何时,开设交通工具设计课程的中国高校屈指可数,而今时不同往日,放眼我们的院校积分榜,一众高等学府不断为中国的汽车设计事业培养输送新鲜血液。

我们举办大赛的目的便是帮助才华横溢的设计新人脱颖而出,因此我们对往届获奖者的事业发展充满好奇。他们现在在哪?从事什么工作?下面我们就来了解一下他们。

王炎超,2010年获奖选手

所获奖项:2010年最佳内饰奖

导师:我的导师是山东工艺美术学院的林宇峰老师和付志伟老师。在准备比赛作品时,他们给我提出了很多指导方向和宝贵意见。不但如此,他们从我接触汽车设计以来就是我的导师,在专业技能方面对我的启发很大,我的很多设计理念也都是在他们的指导下逐步建立。

业界偶像:没有特别崇拜的偶像,现在很多优秀的设计师作品都会给我灵感和启发,每天都可以看到很多有想法的设计,这些都是激励我不断进步的动力。

第一份工作:毕业后获得当时该奖项赞助公司江森自控的实习机会,之后作为内饰设计师继续在延峰江森工作。大赛带来的工作机会和对汽车设计的热爱让我最终选择汽车内饰设计。

终极事业目标:目前很多前沿技术对汽车有着巨大的影响,作为一名汽车内饰设计师,在这一领域还有很多事情可以去探索。我的目标是能够始终保持一种学习的态度和创造力,在这个领域获得更大的发展。

寄语:希望更多的年轻设计师能够保持他们对汽车设计的热情,不断磨练自己的技能和创意思维。祝愿参加新一届大赛的同学们能够完成让自己满意的作品,并获得理想的成绩与机会。

张蓝予,2016年总冠军 

所获奖项:最佳生活时尚设计奖及年度最佳学生设计奖

导师:我的导师是吉林大学汽车学院的苏畅老师。在学校时,她对我的帮助很大,在专业上耐心地为我解答各种问题。除此之外,她更是我的一位人生导师,我十分感激我的导师和学校。

第一份工作:毕业后我就加入了上汽设计团队,现在担任MG外观设计师。我加入上汽团队的原因是我热爱MG这个品牌,而且上汽团队以培养年轻人才为重点,使我很早就可以实现自己的设计方案,并接触1:1油泥模型和其他设计阶段,是很好的锻炼自己的机会。

终极事业目标:我并没有所谓崇高的人生职业目标,我就是想踏踏实实做事,不断提高进步,对得起自己。

寄语:我想对参加新一届大赛的同学们说,把自己的设计想法充分实现,玩的开心就好。赢得大赛总冠军使我获得了前往美国CCS学习四周的机会。这一个月让我认识到自己和日本职业设计师的差距还是很远的,很敬佩他们的工作态度,希望未来自己也可以做到。这段经历也让我深入了解了美国汽车文化,开阔了视野。

陈亮,2010年获奖选手 

所获奖项:2010年中国传统文化设计特别奖

导师:吉林大学的苏畅老师和兰巍老师。她们的帮助对我坚持汽车设计这条道路给予了很大的信心。

业界偶像:Walter de Silver。我认为他很大程度将奥迪的设计,甚至整个汽车设计行业带入了新一轮的演进,而在他进入集团之后也将设计师的位置进一步提高到参与公司顶层决策的高度,使原本非常罕见的设计副总裁这一职位渐渐在各车企中普及开来。同时,我很敬佩他的工作激情以及这位意大利老人强大的创造力。

第一份工作:毕业之后第一份工作就是上汽大众的外饰设计师。大众在设计上严密的推敲过程充分体现了狼堡人对品牌设计哲学的思考,长期在狼堡工作的经历也让我有机会接触和学习世界一流的流程理念和设计背后的逻辑演进。而大众也是一个对竞争和创新都抱持开放态度的地方,所以我才有机会在六年多的学习和成长之后成为一名外饰设计经理,负责管理上汽大众旗下大众品牌整个外饰设计团队,同时目前我也是studio里唯一一个三十岁以下的设计经理。
终极事业目标:创立一间属于自己的设计室。

寄语:参加大赛是你向整个汽车设计界展示想象力、创造力和行动力的最佳时机,你必须激发出自己所有的潜能,全力以赴。

胡冰洋,2010年获奖选手 

所获奖项:2010年最佳外观设计奖

导师:广州美院的邓海山老师。虽然他不是我本专业的老师,但是给了我很多交流与指导,开拓了我的眼界,他现在在美国高校任教。

第一份工作:我的第一份工作也是现在的工作就是在PSA任外饰设计师。当时比赛我做的是雪铁龙的任务书,这给了我直接接触厂商的机会。

终极事业目标:做好汽车设计工作,为中国汽车设计贡献自己的力量。

寄语:高标准要求自己,按职业设计师的标准来参与比赛,多学习国际上的优秀毕设以及来自厂商的概念设计。

李轶萌,2015年总冠军 

所获奖项:最佳创新设计奖及年度最佳学生设计奖

导师:在同济大学时,我的指导教师是李彦龙老师。首先很感激李老师非常支持我大胆的选题。李老师非常注重细节,在项目大方向确定后,李老师指出的不少细节问题都为后来的优化提供了启发和方向。时间管理是设计师很重要的一项素养之一,李老师也在项目辅导过程中严格把控我们的阶段时间点,这也是我从这个项目中学到的重要一课。

业界偶像:入职后,同行的长辈们一直激励、指导着我,朝夕相处之下, 他们带给了我深刻的影响。Ricky Hsu 就是这样一位长辈,他也是我们前瞻工作室的经理。他作为一个铁杆军迷,对各类飞机、艇船了如指掌。在工作室,他总会情不自禁地和我们分享收集的资料,从完成建造的到只存在于研究中的设计,都会让我们大开眼界。但是最激励我的是,他每次分享这些资料时, 就仿佛变成了一个痴迷的男孩,津津乐道于微小的细节,恨不得能立刻做出个模型来展示给我们看。这种不忘初心的热情,感染着我。

第一份工作:我的第一份工作在本田洛杉矶前瞻设计工作室。2015年的大赛让我和CCS结缘,使我获得了前往海外继续完成学业的机会, 进而有幸加入了海外的设计团队。我一直很希望能够从事前瞻方面的设计工作。因为前瞻设计项目的落地,会让人有种提前步入未来的快感。

终极事业目标:我坚信设计可以改变生活。希望将来,我能看到自己的设计深入一些人的生活,与他们朝夕相处,建立关系,潜移默化地影响他们的生活,或是变得更惬意,或是带来更多快乐,或是启发他们创造更美好的东西。寄语:找到自己的兴趣点,做自己想做的课题。

肖航杰,2012年总冠军 

所获奖项:最佳视觉设计奖及年度最佳学生设计奖

导师:湖南大学的肖狄虎老师,他是一个浪漫而自由的人,激发了我们许多的想法和灵感。

业界偶像:Frank Stephenson算一个吧,在国内好像知道他的人不太多,他的整个职业生涯都是传奇,非常励志。

第一份工作:一汽大众的外饰设计师。第一份工作就是大赛的评委Simon Loasby推荐的,现在工作(长城华冠)的领导也正好是当年给我颁奖的Daniel先生,非常感谢他们,感谢大赛提供的机会。

终极事业目标:暂时还没有想到那么遥远,只想把每一个作品做到不留遗憾。

寄语:无论是比赛还是工作中,竞争一直都很激烈,敢于与众不同,才能脱颖而出。

郭嘉翌,2013 &2014年总冠军 

所获奖项:2013年最佳生活时尚设计奖及年度最佳学生设计奖;2014年最佳外观设计奖及年度最佳学生设计奖

导师:我的导师是中央美术学院的汪震宇和王选政两位老师,他们都是我汽车设计的启蒙老师,带我跨进汽车设计的门槛,我非常感激。

业界偶像:偶像非常多,就不一一列举了,在我眼里通过自己的努力,做出一款好车,无论是上到总监下到设计师都可以成为我的偶像。

第一份工作:本科毕业后第一份工作是在观致汽车担任设计师。目前我刚从Pforzheim研究生毕业,准备加入保时捷德国总部担任内饰设计师,选择保时捷是因为它的内饰团队很小,氛围也非常好,有很多机会,再就是自己本身热爱这个行业,通过这么多年的努力也想看看自己究竟能走多远。

终极事业目标:终极目标就是做自己和消费者都满意的设计,为汽车行业做出力所能及的贡献。

寄语:把作品的想法来龙去脉讲清楚永远比几张炫酷而空洞的渲染图重要。把重心放在自己的设计概念上,把逻辑理清,故事说圆,让造型来辅助你的概念,这样获奖的几率应该会高一些。还有就是避免抄袭,不需要刻意模仿一些优秀作品,要相信自己能做的更好。

江明辉 & 朱冠南,2018年总冠军 

所获奖项:最佳奢华概念奖及年度最佳学生设计奖

导师:广东工业大学的张勇老师

业界偶像:有很多偶像,广汽研究院副院长张帆算一个,我们在很久以前就读过很多关于张帆院长的文章,去年也很幸运能在广汽研究院实习。张帆院长也曾对我们在实际项目以及个人作品集上有过指导,那段时间我们对设计的理解有了很大的进步,非常感谢张院。

第一份工作:江明辉目前为大学四年级,朱冠南正在着手准备申请Pforzheim的研究生课程。

终极事业目标:能开上自己设计的车,造就能够传给世人的经典车型。

寄语:CDN是一个非常看重概念创新的比赛,而且在找工作或者申请学校时都需要有一些与众不同的想法,做出来的设计尽量与现在的量产车或者概念车区别开来,且最好让人一眼就能记住。最近在美国看到了非常多的老爷车经典车,它们在无论概念或者造型上都有很多有意思的地方,这些老车对我们启发很大,所以也建议大家看看老车。

李庚,2010年获奖选手 

所获奖项:2010年最佳创新奖

导师:广州美院的邓海山老师,他教导我们好的设计要解决社会问题。

业界偶像:应该说是我的大学老师邓海山,他曾在广美汽车造型设计专业任教,并在年轻时就获得了红点大奖。

第一份工作:毕业后进入了东南三菱汽车,参与三菱翼神10款的设计工作。

终极事业目标:我在14年选择了创业,现从事汽车后市场相关工作,希望能够把“典滴修复” 建立成国内一流汽车低碳修复品牌。

寄语:在你们的青春岁月,勇敢追求梦想,实现自己的价值,为中国设计出力、奉献。

Where the winners are now


When we present 12 Chinese students with their design awards in Shanghai, on 15 April (just before the motor show) 2019, it will mark ten years of the Car Design Awards China. The Awards recognise young design talent, as judged by a panel of senior designers, often Design Directors, working for international automotive and transport companies. If you are a young Chinese design student, register now. It’s free to enter, and it might change your life.

The awards ceremony follows the motor show in China, so it rotates with the show from Beijing to Shanghai. Shanghai is the heartland of automotive design excellence in China, where multiple cultural influences and a thriving megacity create jobs and an inspiring environment for young designers. Many of the students who entered the CDAC competition have ended up living and working in Shanghai.

These awards have been life-changing for some of the students who have competed over the years, creating opportunity and international travel – and they have allowed CDN and our competition Judges to understand and stay in touch with an aspiring group of young, very talented designers.

Perhaps you remember when China didn’t have any schools offering Transport Design as an option? How the academic landscape has changed. Now, if you glance at our China League Table of Schools, there is a host of universities offering relevant design courses (and we rate them according to who has performed best in our awards.)

But what’s really fun, and the reason we run competitions like this, is to identify and encourage young talent. Where possible we track the careers of our winners as they grow up, get their first, second and third jobs. Where are they now? Read on to find out.

Wang Yanchao, winner in 2010
Award category: Best Interior Design 2010
Main tutor: Lin Yufeng and Fu Zhiwei from Shandong University of Art & Design. They gave me tons of advice and guidance when I prepared my entry. Also, they are the ones who led me into the car design field. They inspired me a lot and many of my design concepts were based on their guidance.
Role model: A lot of designers and their work can inspire me. I can learn from their creative ideas. This motivates me to keep moving.
First job: I got the internship offer from the sponsor of the award I won, Johnson Controls. Now I still work there (now Yanfeng Adient). The job opportunities from winning the award and the passion of car design made me to stay in the automotive interior design field.
Ultimate career goal: Cutting-edge technology makes a huge impact on the automotive industry. As an auto interior designer, there are still a lot of things for me to discover. I will keep learning and being creative to develop my career further.

Caption: I hope the young designers can stay passionate about car design, keep honing the skills and creative thinking. I hope the 2019 students can get good results and opportunities from entering the competition.

Zhang Lanyu, overall winner 2016
Award category: Best lifestyle design & overall winner
Main tutor: Professor Su Chang from Jilin University. She helped me a lot in my studies. She was always patient, answering all of my questions. She is also a life coach to me. I feel very grateful to my tutor and university.
First job: I joined SAIC Shanghai after graduation. Now I am an exterior designer for MG. The reason why I chose SAIC is because I like the brand of MG and the SAIC team makes a lot of effort to train young talent. At SAIC, I can make my design a reality sooner and have the opportunity to experience the whole design process including 1:1 clay model.
Ultimate career goal: I don’t have a lofty goal to chase. I would just like to work hard and keep improving myself.
Caption: Don’t limit your imagination and enjoy the competition. Winning the award gave me the opportunity to go to CCS for the four-week workshop. This experience made me see the big distance between me and the Japanese professional designers. I admired their working attitude and hoped I could reach their level one day. I also had the chance to have a deeper understanding of American automotive culture. These all broadened my horizons.

Chen Liang, winner in 2010
Award category: Best design in harmony with Chinese heritage
Main tutor: Su Chang and Lan Wei from Jilin University. They gave me strong confidence to start my car design career.
Role model: Walter de Silver. He led Audi, even the whole car design industry to a new level. He also made the designers get involved in the corporate decision making. Because of him, having VPs of Design (which was rare before) is now widely seen in the automotive industry. I admire his passion and strong creativity.
First job: exterior designer at Volkswagen Design Shanghai. The rigorous design process of Volkswagen fully reflects the Wolfsburg style thinking and the brand’s design philosophy. The long-term experience at VW also gave me the opportunity to learn and get involved in the world-class process and logic behind the design. And Volkswagen is also a place open to competition and innovation, so after more than six years of experience here, I have the opportunity to become an exterior design manager, who is responsible for managing the entire Volkswagen brand exterior design team of SAIC. I am also the only design manager younger than 30 in the studio.
Ultimate career goal: To have my own design studio.
Caption: This is the best time to show your imagination and creation to the whole car design industry. You should develop all your potential to make the best.

Hu Bingyang, winner in 2010
Award category: Best exterior design 2010
Main tutor: Deng Haishan. He was my tutor in Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts. Although he wasn’t from my department, he gave me lots of guidance and broadened my horizons. He currently works in a college in the US.
First job: My first job, also my current job, is exterior designer at PSA. I chose Citroën’s brief to work on. Winning the award gave me the opportunity to communicate with the company directly and get my first job there.
Ultimate career goal: Do best on my current job, contribute to the car design industry in China.
Caption: Set high standards on yourselves, enter the competition as a professional car designer. Learn from the excellent international graduation design and concept design from carmakers.

Li Yimeng, overall winner in 2015 
Award category: Student designer of the year (overall)
Main tutor: Professor Li Yanlong from Tongji University. I really appreciate his support for my bold ideas. Professor Li paid a lot of attention to detail. He identified many problems that helped me improve my design. I also learned the importance of time management from him.
Role model: Ricky Hsu, Manager of the Honda Advanced Design Studio, LA. He is a big military fan and knows lots about aircraft and warships. From existing design to the imagined and projected ones, he always shares his knowledge with us. It’s really eye-opening. When he talks about design, he shows so much excitement and passion. His dedication and enthusiasm touch me deeply.
First Job: Honda Advanced Design Studio Los Angeles.
Ultimate career goal: I believe design can make a difference. I hope one day to see my own design become part of people’s lives. I hope my design can make people’s lives more comfortable and happier, or inspire others to create better things. Because of winning the competition in 2015, I got the opportunity to go to CCS to study abroad, and then joined the design team in the US. When I started to work, I found my senior colleagues are the ones who always encouraged and inspired me. Ricky Hsu, the manager of our studio, is one of them.
Caption: Find your passion and do what you are really interested in!

Xiao Hangjie, overall winner in 2012 
Award category: Best virtual design and student designer of the year
Main tutor: Professor Xiao Dihu at Hunan University. He was always open-minded and inspired us a lot.
Role model: Frank Stephenson. It seems he is not well-known in China, but he is a true legend and his career inspires me.
First job: Exterior designer at FAW-Volkswagen.
Ultimate career goal: I just want to do my best work on each of my designs. My first job was given to me by Simon Loasby, one of the judges [that year and in 2019]. My current boss Daniel Darranco was the one who presented the award to me. I really appreciate their help and the opportunities from the competition. I now work at CH Auto. I moved (for family reasons) from Changchun to Beijing.
Caption: Whether in the competition or at work, it’s always fiercely competitive. If you want to stand out, you must dare to be different from others.

Guo Jiayi, overall winner of 2013 & 2014 
Award category: Best lifestyle design and student designer of the year 2013, best exterior design and student designer of the year 2014.
Who was your main tutor? My tutors were Wang Zhenyu and Wang Xuanzheng from China Central Academy of Fine Arts. They introduced me into the automotive design field and then all started from there. I feel really grateful.
Role model: There are too many to list. From my point of view, anyone who puts their heart into design to make good cars, whether designers or design directors.
First job: Designer at Qoros in Shanghai
Ultimate career goal: I hope my design can make both the customers and myself happy and satisfied and contribute to the automotive industry. I just finished my postgraduate study at Pforzheim and got a job, interior designer, at Porsche. The reason why I took the job is because the Porsche interior design team is small and provides a good atmosphere and many opportunities. And also, I love this industry and would like to see how far I can go after years of effort.
Caption: Telling your story clearly is much more important than making some cool images. Focus on your design concept and logic, use the modelling to help present your ideas. Also, don’t copy others’ work, believe that you can do better.

Jiang Minghui & Zhu Guannan, overall winner of 2018 
Award category won: Best luxury concept and student designers of the year 2018.
Main Tutor: Zhang Yong of Guangdong University of Technology.
Role model: We have many role models. Zhang Fan from GAC Group is one of them. We have read many articles about him and when we were interns at GAC, he helped us a lot on practical projects and portfolios. During that period, our understanding of design has improved greatly. We feel very grateful to him.
First job: Not there just yet! (Jiang is in the last year in university and
Zhu is applying to the postgraduate course in Pforzheim.)
Ultimate career goal: We hope one day we can drive the car of our own design and see our design last for generations.
Caption: CDAC is a competition that values innovation a lot. You must show something new to stand out. Your design needs to provide differences to the existing production and concept cars and also unforgettable points. Currently we are in the US and saw many vintage cars there. Those designs inspired us on both concept and styling. We suggest studying the classic designs.

Li Geng, winner in 2010 
Award category won: Best innovation of 2010.
Main tutor: Deng Haishan. He taught me to design for solving social problems.
Role model: Deng Haishan. He was my tutor in Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts specialised in automotive design. He won The Red Dot Design Award at an early age.
First job: My first job was at South East Motor and I got involved in the design of Mitsubishi Lancer EX 2010.
Ultimate career goal: Make my company, Diandi Xiufu become the top low carbon automotive repair brand in China.
Caption: I had got the offer from South East Motor before the award, but the design team in the company was very impressed by my winning work. I left South East Motor and started my own business in 2014. Now I am working in the auto aftermarket area. Be brave to chase your dream and implement your own value. Work hard to contribute the Chinese car design industry.